What are the countries that Great Britain ruled?

Britain is a very ancient country, with prehistory dating back to AD 43 when the Romans invaded the country. Then parts of the country were under Roman rule until around 440 AD.

The Anglo-Saxons, a Germanic collective people, settled there from around 450 AD to 1066. Later, around the 9th century, the Vikings tried to conquer the country, which they succeeded in 1066 when the Normans, as the Scandinavians were called, conquered it.

The Kingdom of Great Britain has only been spoken of since then "Act of Union"from 1707. Here from the three countries England, Scotland and Wales a unit was formed. Only with that "Act of Union" from 1800 Ireland joined the association.

After the First World War, Ireland was gradually dissolved by Great Britain. In 1949 the Republic of Ireland was founded. Northern Ireland remained part of the United Kingdom, changing the name to "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland".

Great Britain is a monarchy and is ruled by a king / queen. This has been Queen Elisabeth II since 1952. She alone no longer exercises her so-called sovereign right, but exclusively through parliament and the government.