Exchange banks currency

Exchange of national cash

The former national banknotes and coins, such as the German mark or the Spanish pesetas, can in most cases still be exchanged for euros. The national central banks are solely responsible for the exchange. The European Central Bank does not exchange banknotes or coins.

The table below shows how long the various national banknotes can be exchanged for euros. Simply click on the respective country name. Some of the national central banks still exchange series of banknotes that are older than the series shown on this page.


Some central banks have set a time limit for the exchange of national banknotes and coins for euros.

countryExchange of banknotesExchange of coins
BelgiumIndefinitelyDecember 31, 2004
CyprusDecember 31, 2017December 31, 2009
FinlandFebruary 29, 2012February 29, 2012
France17th February 2012February 17, 2005
GreeceMarch 1, 2012March 1, 2004
ItalyDecember 6, 2011December 6, 2011
LuxembourgIndefinitelyDecember 31, 2004
MaltaJanuary 31, 2018February 1, 2010
Netherlands (1)January 1, 2032January 1, 2007
PortugalFebruary 28, 2022December 31, 2002
SloveniaUnlimitedDecember 31, 2016
SlovakiaUnlimitedJanuary 2, 2014
SpainJune 30, 2021June 30, 2021